Hall Of Fame


The South Australian Rugby Union Hall of Fame was founded in 2007.

Each year, the Hall of Fame is chosen from the ranks of players, coaches, referees and administrators by a committee of Rugby Union experts and historians of Rugby Union in South Australia.

The Hall of Fame is an important part of recognising the heritage of Rugby Union in SA.

As we develop and build towards the future it is imperative we recognise the individuals who laid the game’s foundation in this great State. These individuals are synonymous with Rugby Union in SA.

They were the benchmark of excellence in their respective eras. The career statistics of each are astonishing enough, but the stories behind these people reveal their true greatness.


  • Those who have made a most significant contribution to the game of Rugby Union in South Australia since its inception in 1932.
  • A candidate’s outstanding services and overall contribution as opposed to one specific aspect.


2017 HoF Inductees
2016 HoF Inductees
Gary Howat
John Hudson
Peter Wilson
Kim Evans
Glen Millar OAM


2015 HoF Inductees
2014 HoF Inductees
2013 HoF Inductees
2012 HoF Inductees
Wally Bell
William Fidock
Brian Gallop
Timothy Lough
Michael Lowe
Alf Chapple *
Max Conry *
Paul Douglas
Richard Wells
Ken Williams


2011 HoF Inductees
2010 HoF Inductees
2009 HoF Inductees
2008 HoF Inductees
Rob Brown
Jimmy Tapara
Andy Collins
Pat Talbot
Les Mattin
Clem Richards *
Dr Stephen Blanch
Pamela Jackson
Jim Jones
Rosalie Sage *
Frank H Shaw *
Janet Turner


2007 Hall of Fame Inductees
Gordon Allen* Ted Apted David Ashton Phil Badcock
Richard Badcock* Sean Beaton Peter Brown Phillip Bruce*
Bob Burgess* Graeme Burrows Clyde Buttery Phil Campbell*
Jim Carroll* Jack Case* Gavin Collings Barry Cooper
John Dawes* Henry Dijksman George Doughty Jimmy Dow*
Roderick Essery Rev Howell Witt* Ted Fidock OAM Ken Grayling MBE*
Rod Hauser Ray Herde* Barry Hickman Bob Hogarth
Lindsay Kestel* Meredith Knowler Dick Leeson Theo Londema
Norm Mair* Arthur Mallison* Alec Marks Len Perkins*
Michael Rixon Mark Roderick Colin Runge* John Sowter*
Dr Jan Staska* Michael von Berg MC OAM Jimmy Wilson