The Don Smith Medal is presented annually to the best Premier Grade player as determined by points allocated in each round during the season, by the match referees.

Donald Smith joined Woodville RUFC in 1933, was Club Captain and State Representative in 1936 and 1939 and in that year he enlisted in the Royal Australian Navy. As a seaman on HMAS Perth, Don played in the Perth ’s 7 a-side competition in Alexandria , Egypt .

Donald Smith lost his life when HMAS Perth was sunk in the Sundra Straits.

In his memory Woodville RUFC established the Don Smith Medal and through the generosity of team-mate Len Dangerfield a trophy was donated to recognise SA rugby’s best and fairest player in a season.

Each year a member of the Woodville Rugby Club presents the prestigious medal at the Don Smith Medal Awards night.

Past Recipients are:

1946 L Perkins Old Collegians 1965 Capt. R Sutton University
1947 M Hone University 1966 D Rosewell University
1948 A Marks Woodville 1967 W Fraser Elizabeth
1949 J Probert University 1968 K James West Torrens
1950 K Buttery Burnside 1969 R Hannam Woodville
H Davis Woodville 1970 R Forbes Glenelg
1951 C Richards West Torrens 1971 R Just Glenelg
1952 E Fidock Woodville 1972 R Hauser Old Collegians
1953 H Davis Woodville 1973 R Hauser Old Collegians
1954 C Wilke West Torrens 1974 B Hannam Woodville
1955 W Scott Glenelg 1975 Cavuoto Woodville
1956 M Vangelder University 1976 G Millar Glenelg
1957 R Tan University 1977 P Bruce Glenelg
1958 A Sell North Adelaide 1978 P Talbot Burnside
1959 E Fidock Southern Suburbs 1979 S Doughty Onkaparinga
1960 W Fidock Woodville 1980 R Mayor Combined Uni
1961 R Barker Old Collegians 1981 C Lachlan Port Adelaide
1962 A Radford University 1982 S Beaton Old Collegians
1963 C Garland Burnside 1983 J Fidock Brighton
1964 D Thomson University 1984 K Maxwell Onkaparinga
1985 S Beaton Old Collegians 2005 G Brown Brighton
1986 P Douglas Elizabeth 2006 A Farquharson Old Collegians
1987 J Fidock Brighton 2007 A Mattin Port Adelaide
1988 H Dijksman West Torrens 2008 M Taufaao Burnside
1989 G Carson Brighton 2009 M Taufaao Burnside
1990 G Carson Brighton 2010 W Duff Woodville
1991 T Austin Adelaide Uni 2011 W Duff Woodville
1992 H Dijksman West Torrens 2012 P Williams Southern Suburbs
1993 H Dijksman West Torrens 2013 T Mattin Port Adelaide
1994 D Rees Brighton 2014 G Mann Old Collegians
1995 P Jackson Brighton 2015 T Mattin Port Adelaide
1996 B Satala Onkaparinga 2016 T Doughty Onkaparinga
1997 G Pfister Old Collegians 2017 P Fahy Brighton
1998 P Green Woodville
1999 J Natadra Brighton
2000 J Twohill Burnside
2001 A Bester Port Adelaide
2002 G Taka Onkaparinga
2003 W Duff Woodville